Vegan MoFo #8: Bake Sale for Farm Sanctuary!

As I mentioned in my last post, a group of PPKers are walking in the SF Farm Sanctuary Walk for Animals in November. We’re having a couple of bake sales to raise money and today was the South Bay/Santa Cruz bake sale.

I contributed a few different things. At our last bake sale we noticed that people definitely wanted savory options, so I opted to make some pizza buns. I couldn’t find a recipe I wanted to use so I just winged it. It needs a bit of tweaking, but I’ll be sure to post it once I think it’s up to snuff.

I used Kittee’s recipe for peanut butter rice crispy squares:

Halloween sugar cookies (recipe from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar). I was surprised these sold so well, I thought they were pretty ugly. I have a ton of cookie cutters and I love rolling and cutting out cookies, but I really hate to pipe icing. Turns out Amey hates rolling and cutting but loves piping…sounds like a cooking making match made in heaven.

For the healthier crowd, I made fruit-coconut oat bars using the base recipe from VegWeb. These ones had banana, flax, coconut, dried cherries, dried blueberries, and a tiny handful of chocolate chips. They didn’t go over all that well so I’d probably skip them next time. I understand, if I found a table full of vegan goodies the last thing I would want is a healthy looking oat bar.

Quite awhile ago I bought a bottle of date molasses at a Middle Eastern market. It sat in my pantry for quite awhile as I hadn’t a clue what to do with it. I Googled and found a recipe for cardamom and date molasses cake on Arabic Bites. Mine looks nothing like the delicious photo on that blog, but people told me it still tasted good. It sold out, so I guess it couldn’t have been that bad!

Autumn made tons of delicious goodies, including this awesome flat bread with carmelized onion, squash, and roasted apples (she used the Chef Cloe recipe):

She also made some delicious chickpea flatbread/socca from xgfx. Some of it was topped with hummus and veggies:

And some of it was topped with pesto. She also grew those tomatoes herself!

I think the star of the show were these cake pops, also made by Autumn. How adorable are those tiny bone sprinkles??

And she wasn’t done there! She also made carrot cake cupcakes with cream cheese frosting – shown here next to pumpkin muffins from Kathy:

Kathy had some awesome contributions herself, including tomato rosemary scones (from Vegan Brunch):

Raspberry chocolate chip blondies (from Vegan with a Vengeance):

And blueberry muffins:

Mad props to Amey for organizing our bake sale and making all of the awesome signage and providing us with tables and tablecloths and all of the other necessary bake sale stuff that nobody thinks about. She also made a ton of goodies, including cardamom rolls:

Gluten-free peanut butter and chocolate chip cookies:

Zucchini bread:

Armenian brioche stuffed with dates:

Gluten-free sparkle cookies:

Coldandsleepy was there too! Among other things, she made these delicious looking apple scones:

And pumpkin muffins:

I know I’m missing tons of stuff so I apologize for leaving anything/anyone out! It was hard to keep track of all of the amazing treats. In the end we raised over $600 for Farm Sanctuary.

Tagged ,

8 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo #8: Bake Sale for Farm Sanctuary!

  1. Omg.. u want me to choose from these:)) i would just love to be at the bake sale and sample everything!! awesome collection!. i like some savory in bake sales too.. so i;d probably make some sprouted grain flat breads, and doughnuts!

  2. Yay! You got some great pics! We (I) already devoured most of the leftovers from today.

    Lots of talented bakers making veganism look good :)

  3. ameyfm says:

    oh my gosh, so many amazing pics. You’ve got the midas touch with the camera! And the spatula! :)

  4. celyn says:

    What an epic bake sale this must have been! Wow.

  5. Dimitra says:

    so beautiful pictures! everything looks so delicious! wish I was there

  6. Mandee says:

    Congratulations on an awesome bake sale! You guys had such a good variety, our customers are keen on savoury treats too so I’ll have to use some of your ideas in the future.

  7. […] my mouth. However, I had a bit leftover from making peanut butter rice crispy squares for the bakesale last […]

  8. Mo says:

    That is one serious bake sale! So awesome!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

