MoFo #18: Basic salad formula

My favourite lunch is a ginormous salad. It’s a habit I picked up from Eat to Live. Usually I like my salads pretty simple…I don’t add a lot of “stuff” to them. Although the exact contents of my salad change, my basic formula is greens of choice (usually field greens for me) + legume (for protein) + nooch/nutritional yeast + flax + sriracha.

I know what you are thinking, “sriracha on salad?!” Call me a sriracha addict (I won’t deny it…), but I really like this stuff on salad. Especially with nooch. They mix together to make this awesome sriracha-nooch paste and it’s delicious! I probably sound like a mad woman here, but if you are a fellow sriracha devotee you need to try it before you judge me.

As for my other raw veggies, typically I don’t add them to salad but I eat them separately. For example, rather than adding chopped carrot, I’d rather eat carrot sticks on the side.

Here is a recent salad that is pretty bare bones, but was utterly delicious (greens, lentil sprouts, nutritional yeast, flax, sriracha).

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “MoFo #18: Basic salad formula

  1. jessy says:

    i never thought to add sriracha to a salad – and i totally should because i’m slowly becoming a sriracha addict as well. for years i shook my head at my spouse when he would put it on almost everything….now i know why – it’s the best! the next salad i’m break’n out the sriracha for. w00t!

  2. Sriracha on salad sounds like a given, beautiful photo as well!

  3. Mandee says:

    I haven’t ever tried sriracha but I do have Tapatio hot sauce and I love salads that involve greens + legumes too. This looks like one healthy and satisfying salad.

  4. Bethany says:

    There’s nothing like a big yummy salad for lunch!!

    I’d like to honor you with a Liebster Award! You can pick it up on my blog http://bananasforsmoothies.blogspot.com

    I’m glad to have found your blog during MoFo, and thank you for your support! :) Bethany

  5. Niru says:

    A very solid formula, indeed. A quick meal for an weeknight. What a lovely salad!

  6. Sriracha on a salad? I’m impressed! I often make fun of myself for carting hot sauce to the dinner table for everything from breakfast to snacks, lunch to dinner. However, I haven’t started toting it out for salads yet. I have something to aspire to! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

