MoFo #24: My first soy curl experience

25 Oct

On a recent trip to Rainbow Grocery in San Francisco, I finally got my paws on some Butler Soy Curls! For years I have read on the internet how glorious these things were, but I was too cheap to pay for shipping and I couldn’t find them locally. My two prized bags of curls sat in my pantry for awhile, as I thought about what my first soy curl experience should be.

 

The answer was obvious – smoky soy curls from Julie Hasson’s new book: Vegan Diner. It’s a fairly simple recipe, and is meant to be Julie’s take on bacon. She suggests using them in a BLT sandwich, but since I was out of lettuce AND tomato, I simply put them on a toasted hot dog bun with a bit of Daiya cheese:

Yum! Soy curls definitely live up to all of the hype! I can’t wait to try the aforementioned BLT. And next time I’m in the city I will need to make a special trip to stock up on more curls!

7 Responses to “MoFo #24: My first soy curl experience”

  1. veganlinda October 25, 2011 at 3:38 am #

    Thanks for the link for tomatillo recipes. I have to try soy curls sometime. I will probably be the last vegan on the planet to try them, but I think I’m finally convinced.

  2. cadryskitchen October 25, 2011 at 3:44 am #

    I had the Smoky Soy Curls from Vegan Diner today too! I love how quickly and easily they come together. The texture and taste are great for a sandwich or even just popping straight into the mouth as a snack.

  3. Laura October 25, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Looks so good. I don’t think you can get soy curls in the UK. I showed you some love on my blog today :)

  4. Maggie Muggins October 25, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    That looks goooood. I wish I could get soy curls here, it’s been too long since I’ve had them. I think another PPK swap is in order.

  5. Mandee October 25, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    I keep reading about these and wish I’d been able to try them years ago, I don’t even think they’re available here.

  6. Amanda October 25, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    They have soy curls at Rainbow now?! Oh, that is wonderful news. Thanks for the update.

  7. Maggie Muggins November 3, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Oh, and I would totally be up for doing a swap…not sure if there’s anything you’d be missing from Canada?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

