Brief hiatus

21 Mar

Things have been pretty quiet around here lately.

For two weeks or so my cat was pretty ill. Although we tried different things to help combat his liver disease, ultimately we had to make the heart-wrenching decision to euthanize him. By the end, he was inconsolable and wasn’t sleeping…he would just walk around howling. It was awful.

He was my baby. My best friend. My everything. The two of us have been through so much together. We’ve moved together to three different cities, heck, even a different country.He was always there for me.

There really isn’t much more to say. This is a horrible time for any pet parent and I’m sure you can understand why I haven’t been cooking /blogging much lately.

There is a giant hole in my heart. I know that time is the great healer and this will get easier. But right now I am still in a place of grief.

7 Responses to “Brief hiatus”

  1. Barb March 21, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    I am so sorry to hear about your kitty! He was a beautiful little boy, and I’m sure he loved you as much you love him. Hang in there!

  2. Maggie Muggins March 23, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    I’m so sorry for your loss Carrie, losing a loved one is always heart wrenching but I’m sure he lived a very happy life with you.

  3. malindagrace March 25, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    :( So sorry! I had to put down my dog last year and it was super traumatic. Grieve and then get back into doing things you love like cooking and you will begin to heal. <3

  4. aneforme April 13, 2012 at 1:46 am #

    Very sorry. I had to euthanize my buddy of 15 years two weeks ago. I knew the time was coming and it still wrecked me. In honor of him I saved a life from the city kennel and it was the best decision I’ve ever made. Stay strong. Hugs for you.

  5. healthyfrenchie April 25, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. I could not imagine loosing our dog Freddie. It’s amazing the place those little furry ones take in our hearts… Big cyber hugs for you

  6. Mandee July 1, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    Oh Carrie, this post made me so sad. I can imagine how inconsolable you must have been feeling. I hope you’re doing ok, he was a beautiful boy! xox

  7. Terri August 22, 2012 at 11:17 pm #

    I just found your website and am so sorry to ready about your beautiful boy. I lost my cat, Buddy just over a year ago, he was a wonderful companion. I have another girl now that I love, but there will never be another Buddy. I wish you all the best as you are going through this.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

