Tofu Cookery: Tofu Enchiladas

 

 

No doubt about it: I’m an enchilada fan. The first vegan enchilada recipe I made was this one from VegWeb. Typically I make my enchilada filling with beans. Beans are delicious, cheap, and healthy. But of course that’s not how things work in Tofu Cookery, those enchiladas need tofu (incidentally, this recipe is also the one that is featured on the cover of the book).

The filling isn’t just crumbled tofu
though. First you coat some tofu in a mixture that includes soy sauce and peanut butter, then the tofu is baked. The baked tofu is what you use for your enchilada filling. I wouldn’t have thought to use peanut butter myself, but it’s actually pretty delicious. You can taste a faint hint of peanut butter once the enchiladas are baked.

I usually make a nutritional yeast cheese sauce for my enchiladas, but this time I thought I would stick with the original recipe and forego it. I’m glad I did, the ‘cheese sauce’ would have drowned out the subtle flavour of the seasoned tofu. I just topped my enchiladas with some black olives and avocado and all was well with the world.

Do you like enchiladas? What are your favourite enchilada fillings?

6 thoughts on “Tofu Cookery: Tofu Enchiladas

  1. Love says:

    Tofu and peanut butter in enchiladas sounds really delicious! I might have to buy this book :)
    I really like black beans and sweet potatoes in enchiladas. Maybe with some chipotle and a creamy cashew cheese sauce. Yum.

  2. I’m all about the chipotle black beans and cashew cheese in my enchiladas. The peanut butter tofu sounds interesting, never would I have thought that Mexican and peanut butter would go together.

  3. Autumn says:

    Sounds pretty good! That’s two recipes that use peanut butter now, right? I wonder if that will pop up a lot with this book!

    A while ago one of my co-workers told me about this great veg place in Ann Arbor, Michigan that makes butternut squash enchiladas so I googled it, found a recipe that I veganized, and it’s one of my favorite dishes now.

    Here’s the link to the non-vegan recipe:http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipe/butternut-squash-enchiladas-2/

  4. veronica619 says:

    Even when I was little I liked Mexican rice in my enchiladas. Sure made things easier when I went vegan!

  5. [...] most folks, I typically make tamale pie with beans. Much like her version of enchiladas, Louise Hagler isn’t satisfied unless there is tofu in there. A lot of [...]

  6. Vegan Joe says:

    My daughter would make mine with Daiya,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

