Tofu Cookery: Tamale Pie

 

 

 

Like most folks, I typically make tamale pie with beans. Much like her version of enchiladas, Louise Hagler isn’t satisfied unless there is tofu in there. A lot of tofu.

This recipe was like most any other tamale pie…with the exception that you use torn up pieces of extra-firm tofu rather than beans. The insides looked kind of nasty, but it tasted pretty yummy.

 

I don’t think I’d go out of my way to make this again, but that’s just because I’m lukewarm on tamale pie to begin with. It’s something I generally make when my fridge and pantry are bare, and all I have around is beans, tomatoes, and cornmeal, or when I’m looking for something that’s both A.) filling, B.) fairly healthy, and C.) cheap.

 

Tagged ,

One thought on “Tofu Cookery: Tamale Pie

  1. I think I’ve only made tamale pie once and I remember it being pretty good, but like you said, I view it as a clean out the pantry kind of meal.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

