Tofu Cookery: Tofu Burgers

I rarely make burgers at home. I have tried dozens of recipes but I still have not found one with a texture I like. They are always mushy or crumbly or some combination of the two. Given that I’m cooking out of Tofu Cookery this MoFo, I thought I would give the tofu burgers a try.

The recipe is fairly similar to the tofu spaghetti balls. Tofu, wheat germ (I used bread crumbs as I can’t find wheat germ here), a tiny bit of flour, and some herbs and spices. As you might expect, they were quite tasty (as were the spaghetti balls), but didn’t hold together very well.  Perhaps a bit of flax or some vital wheat gluten in lieu of the flour would have been the way to go.

Oh well. I had my burger on some whole wheat bread with lettuce and tomato and it was still delicious, even if it was crumbly.

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “Tofu Cookery: Tofu Burgers

  1. The best burgers I’ve made always tend tp have a bit of VWG in them, I’ve never had a tofu burger though.

  2. Vegan Joe says:

    VWG is what?

  3. Autumn says:

    I have the same problem with delicious yet crumbly veggie burgers. Ugh! I got the new vegan burger book for kindle and they have VWG. Fingers crossed!

  4. Vegan Joe says:

    Thanks for answering that question about Vital Wheat Gluten Autumn.! Geez

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

