Tofu Cookery: Chili Con Tofu

12 Oct

I had serious reservations about this chili. Normally, I think a hearty bean chili is where it’s at. But chili with tofu? This was new territory to me. However, in the name of Vegan MoFo, I ventured forth.

This recipe is really simple. Essentially you brown some onion, garlic, and green pepper, along with crumbled tofu that’s been mixed with soy sauce. You then add some tomato sauce, water/veggie broth, chili powder, and pinto beans. That’s it.

Truth be told this chili didn’t look so great. The white hunks of tofu were really unappetizing to me. But taste it I did and I was actually quite pleasantly surprised. It wasn’t half bad at all. This isn’t something I’d make again, I much prefer more ‘traditional’ non-tofu chili, but I’m glad I tried it.

What do you normally put in your chili? Usually I stick with kidney and pinto beans, but sometimes I add chickpeas.

5 Responses to “Tofu Cookery: Chili Con Tofu”

  1. Mihl October 12, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    I often make chili with tofu, especially with smoked tofu. I don’t find it weird at all.

  2. kittee October 12, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    Did you buy a case of tofu for the month??? Are you getting sick of it yet? I think you’re pretty much a big tofu trooper.
    xo kittee

  3. Maggie Muggins October 12, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    I usually stick to beans and bulgur when I make chili, although I like Mihl’s idea of using smoked tofu. I’d think it would give it a bit of a beefy texture?

  4. Autumn October 12, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    I really like a mix of kidney, pinto, and black beans. I thought that was perfect as is, but Jacob likes the addition of TVP. I think I’ll try Maggie Muggins suggestion of bulgur!

    I’ve never heard of tofu in chili. Maybe if it was baked really firmly and crumbled up I’d like it but not as white hunks!

  5. Love October 13, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    I put all kinds of stuff in my chili: beans (any variety), seitan, TVP, sweet potatoes, bbq sauce… Not all at once though.

    Smoked tofu chili sounds really good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

