Tofu Cookery: Eggplant Sandwiches

This recipe is quite similar to the eggplant lasagna I posted about earlier. Essentially you bread and bake slices of eggplant, and fill with a tofu ricotta. I added some fresh tomato and basil.

 

These were pretty tasty, but not very substantial. I think they would be good for a summer meal when you want something light, along with a salad or a cold soup or what-have-you. They were also a bit messy, so I’m not sure I’d serve them at a fancypants occasion.

I’m certainly not carb-phobic, but I love the idea of making sandwiches with tasty vegetables rather than slices of bread. Do you have any favourite veggie stand-ins for bread?

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Tofu Cookery: Eggplant Sandwiches

  1. Autumn says:

    Oooh they’re so pretty! They would be good appetizers or maybe alongside some gazpacho. I’ve only ever substituted kale leaves for tortillas in a wrap. I bet you could use zucchini slices or something!

  2. I love anything ‘mini’! I will be featuring these in my weekly roundup on Sunday. Happy Vegan Mofo! :-)

  3. Berlin says:

    I know it’s not very new or different but I love bib lettuce leaves in place of bread. One of my favorite uses is wrapped around a crumbly homemade grain/bean/veggie burger patty and any favorite fixins :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

