Update on foot

So this isn’t food related, but I have noticed a few people getting to my blog based on searches about foot surgery. I know when I was trying to find info about my surgery to have my EHL tendon repaired there wasn’t that much info out on the interweb. So in the interest of sharing my experiences I thought I’d give a quick update from my previous post.

Unfortunately I will NOT be crutch-free for MoFo. I saw the doctor on Tuesday (5 weeks post-op) and had my cast taken off, stitches removed, and my giant toe pin taken out. I asked if I could keep the pin. Look at the size of this thing!

I wish I could say that this was the end of my foot surgery adventure. Alas, I am now in a walking boot/aircast to keep my tendon protected. It is still extremely fragile and still needs time to heal. Apparently if I stub my toe the wrong way and the tendon bends down it will just snap. So the walking boot is really to keep my toe safe.

I can start walking on my foot a LITTLE bit (adding more time each week) and I start physical therapy next week. I haven’t been able to take steps without my crutches yet…you wouldn’t believe how weak my foot/leg is! My calf is all shriveled and tiny, there’s not much muscle at all. Oh well, I know it will come back.

Anyway, I am still going to MoFo, although I expect this will put a bit of a damper on my plans. Normally I LOVE not having a vehicle, but it super sucks when you are no longer able to walk to the grocery store. Oh well, onward and upward, I’ll make-do! One thing this experience has taught me is to appreciate small things like having unlimited mobility…just the simple act of being able to walk is a very precious thing.

Have you ordered your kitchen shoes yet??

Leave a Reply

