MoFo #1: Zeni Ethiopian

Yay! Happy MoFo!

My goal: 31 posts in 31 days. Yikes. Let’s see if I can do this!

First up, a restaurant review. Since foot surgery I’ve been working at home and feeling like a lonely hermit. My husband works pretty long hours and has a fair commute, so it’s just me and my cat for most of the day. I love my cat and all, but he’s not much for conversation. Especially considering he sleeps about 20 hours a day.

Anyhoo, in an effort to get out of the house (and get some delicious food in my belly), a couple of weeks ago I went out for Ethiopian with my PPK buddies (go visit Autumn – she’s doing MoFo, too!). I’ve had Ethiopian quite a few times, but not since moving to California. At their suggestion, we tried Zeni.

Every time I’m at an Ethiopian restaurant I always go for the vegetarian platter so I get to try a little bit of everything. This one had a combo of  ye miser wat (red lentils in red sauce), ye kik alichta (split yellow pea puree), ataklet wot (stewed cabbage, carrots, and potatoes), ye gomen wot (collards), ye timatim fit fit (injeera pieces in a tomato sauce), and a house salad. Excuse the less than stellar photo, the lighting was pretty dark:

The food was pretty good. The red lentils were probably my favourite. The timatim fit fit dish (the one with the pieces of injeera in a tomato sauce) was new to me. I’m not sure what I thought about it. It’s not something I would ever order by itself, but it was okay on the platter. One thing I liked is that the house salad had nice, fresh vegetables. At other restaurants usually they serve you a sad head of browning iceberg lettuce. Not Zeni! The lettuce was nice and crisp and the veggies were fresh.

The only thing I would say that was a bit off was the injeera. It wasn’t bad per se, it just wasn’t as good as some of the other injeera I’ve had in the past.

All in all it was a really great night out and I was so happy to have a reason to hobble out of the house and spend some time with friends and good food. I live pretty close to two other Ethiopian restaurants so once I am healed and walking properly I will have to try those out for comparison. And of course now that I have Papa Tofu Loves Ethiopian (kittee’s zine) I can finally make yummy Ethiopian at home, too!


Tagged ,

7 thoughts on “MoFo #1: Zeni Ethiopian

  1. Vanessa says:

    Yum! I love vegan ethiopian food. ❤

  2. mollyjade says:

    I love Ethiopian for the same reason: getting to try a little of everything.

  3. Niru says:

    Lovely pictures! I cant wait to cook ethiopian from the papa tofu book after my little shopping trip at rainbow today. Looks like I have all ingredients now.

  4. Yay! I’m super excited to cook some Ethiopian food now!

    Your second pic is awesome. It looks like it belongs on the restaurant’s website 🙂

  5. Mandee says:

    I haven’t been to your bog before, it’s great!

    I’ve never had Ethipian food before but it looks delicious, I’ll have to buy the zine too.

  6. Mo says:

    This is not helping my Ethiopian craving one bit! Looks really good!

  7. […] most normal folk, I’m gaga for Ethiopian food. I was super excited to buy Kittee’s zine, Papa Tofu Loves Ethiopian Food, when it was […]

Leave a Reply

