MoFo #2: SF VegFest

This weekend was the San Francisco Vegetarian Society’s World Veg Festival, aka VegFest. We arranged for a PPK field trip to the city with Autumn, Niru, and Kathy. After an eventful drive through the city (I shouldn’t sit in the front seat, I was a pretty bad co-pilot), we arrived at the venue in Golden Gate Park.


There was a mix of vendors…a lot of food stuff (including free samples!), some animal rights stuff, the Book Publishing Company, and a table or two of religious stuff.

Ah, the Vita-Mix guy….oh how I want one of these for my very own!

Oh! And I finally got to meet Robert Cheeke, the Vegan Bodybuilder! I’ve known Robert for about 3 years or so online, but we’ve never actually met! It was great to see him become a published author and I’m happy his book is doing so well. If you are wondering why I’m on crutches, see this post.

I think the highlight for me was the Flacos tent. Mmmmm…taquito – I love that their ‘hot’ salsa is actually hot!:

And some aqua fresca to wash it down:

The girls ordered tamales, which also looked amazing:

I was a bit trepidatious about heading to VegFest still on crutches, but I’m really glad I went. The thing I hate the most about being on crutches is being so useless and having to ask people to do things for me all of the time, but my PPK buddies were so helpful and nice and didn’t seem to mind me hobbling along, thanks guys!

Tagged

9 thoughts on “MoFo #2: SF VegFest

  1. Jackie Smith says:

    What a wonderful time! mmm…vegan taquitos…I’ll have to hit up Flacos the next time I’m in the city.

  2. celyn says:

    It looks like an awesome time, and props to you for attending while crutching!

  3. Your got some good pictures yesterday! All of mine seem to have come out blurry or with someone’s mouth open LOL!

    You were an awesome co-pilot! We got to all the places we wanted to go so that’s a win in my book.

  4. caroline m. says:

    flaco’s is so good! i love their hot sauce. i want to try gracias madre next time i’m in the city.

  5. […] another vegan food blog MoFo #2: SF VegFest […]

  6. Emily says:

    I am so jealous as I considered attending SF VegFest, but the long drive from Sacramento stopped me. Your pictures are beautiful and those tacos look sublime!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and Happing Mofo’ing πŸ™‚

  7. Niru says:

    You’ve got such good pictures – its like they tell a story from start to finish about the entire event. Looking forward to another vegan trip!

  8. Nanette says:

    Oh it looks like so much fun! Thanks for the photos! I also lust after a Vita Mix and dream of all the wondrous things I could do with it! πŸ™‚

  9. Thanks for the comment on my blog! I was sad to have to miss SF Veg Fest for the second year in a row, since we were out of town. The food from Flaco’s looks fantastic, as always.

Leave a Reply

