MoFo #3: Rainbow Grocery

San Francisco is such a great city. I’m about an hour away from the city so I’m not there as often as I would like. If it was at all feasible I’d pack up and move there in a heart-beat, but it’s just not practical for my husband’s commute.

If I DID live in San Francisco, I am pretty sure I would do most of my grocery shopping at Rainbow Grocery – a vegetarian, worker-owned food co-operative (does it get anymore San Francisco than that?).

After attending VegFest on Saturday, we headed over to Rainbow. The best part about visiting Rainbow with 3 other vegan foodies? You can take an hour looking at every single thing in the store and nobody minds!

My favourite part about Rainbow is the enormous selection of bulk spices. They have just about every spice you could think of! I picked up some ancho chili powder.

I got quite a large haul. I haven’t had a chance to restock much of anything in my pantry since the accident so I wasn’t going to pass up this great opportunity! Highlights include Dandies, some sprouted tofu, bulk almonds and walnuts, baking supplies (for an upcoming bake sale in Santa Cruz! Stay tuned for more info!), some dried beans, and…..SOY CURLS! That’s right, I finally got my paws on some soy curls! I have yet to try these things, but the vegan internet makes them sound heavenly.

I will need to find the perfect recipe for my first soy curl experience, any suggestions?

Tagged

13 thoughts on “MoFo #3: Rainbow Grocery

  1. Coooool! I’ve never been to Rainbow either (living slightly too far to visit just for a grocery store trip) but have heard it mentioned so many times that it’s kind of like a mythical land to me.

    I really dig soy curls and think they’re great subbed in for the seitan in the Viva Vegan Arroz con Seitan recipe.

  2. Karena says:

    A grocery store like that in my neighborhood is my dream!

  3. Niru says:

    I loved the trip. You’re so right when you say that you can take an hour to browse and no body minds. I am usually so hurried during grocery shopping trips, this was really a perfect outing.

    Perhaps we should go to berkeley bowl next? Never been there, but heard good things about it.

  4. I’m looking for recipes to use my soy curls too! Let me know if you find a good one.

    Berkeley Bowl is awesome! They’ve got an amazing produce section!

  5. Jojo says:

    Rainbow grocery looks amazing, we have somewhere like it here (vegi & a worker owned co-op) called Infinity Foods but it’s not as big as Rainbow.

  6. Mandee says:

    I hope that one day I can visit Rainbow Grocery, it looks amazing!

    I’ve never used soy curls but every time I read about them people have used them in a bbq sauce.

  7. Rachel says:

    i LOVE bulk spices! they make life so much easier. like if i want to make pumpkin pie without buying a whole jar of pumpkin pie spice, i can buy a tablespoon! so convenient!

  8. […] another vegan food blog MoFo #3: Rainbow Grocery […]

  9. I love Rainbow! I don’t get to go there nearly as often as I’d like, which is probably a good thing for my wallet. The best way I’ve had soy curls so far is smoked, a la Homegrown Smoker. I hear there’s a recipe in Vegan Diner too, although I haven’t tried it myself.

  10. […] bought these almonds in bulk at Rainbow Grocery in San Francisco. I wanted to do a price comparison to see how much cheaper it is to make your own […]

  11. […] a recent trip to Rainbow Grocery in San Francisco, I finally got my paws on some Butler Soy Curls! For years I have read on the […]

Leave a Reply

