MoFo #5: Hot Dog Salad

I really like condiments. A lot. Even when I don’t have many groceries in my fridge, I always have shelves of condiments in there. Some food I crave only for the condiments that typically go on them. Like hot dogs. Hot dogs are the perfect delivery system for ketchup and mustard.

Ah, ketchup and mustard. Such a perfect combination. I try to keep the amount of processed food in my diet to a minimum, which means I don’t often eat things that typically go with ketchup and mustard. But every so often a craving hits and I need my ketchup and mustard fix. I immediately start thinking of hot dogs. Sometimes I will just buy some veggie dogs and buns and go to town. But other times I try to keep it healthier. Enter the hot dog salad.

Say what?

You heard me: hot dog salad. It’s a hot dog in salad form. You take all of your usual hot dog fixings and put them on top of lettuce (I find a nice crisp lettuce like romaine works the best). I know, I know, this sounds crazy and disgusting, but trust me, it’s actually pretty good.

Hot Dog Salad

-2 vegan hot dogs
-romaine lettuce
-ketchup
-mustard
-whatever hot dog toppings you like (e.g., onion, pickle, hot peppers, etc.)

1. Shred your lettuce and pile it on your plate.
2. Cut the hot dogs into rounds and heat in a frying pan/skillet.
3. Prepare whatever hot dog toppings you are using (e.g., slice onions if using, chop pickles, etc.)
4. Top lettuce with cooked hot dogs plus toppings.
5. Add condiments, such as ketchup and mustard.

 

 

Tagged ,

10 thoughts on “MoFo #5: Hot Dog Salad

  1. Mandee says:

    I know what you mean about wanting a condiment so you choose a food just so you can have that, for me it’s veggie burgers with lots of tomato sauce & mayo. I really like that this is bread-less, now if I only I could find some veggie hot dogs…

  2. Kyleigh says:

    I’ve never really been a fan of hot dogs, not as an omni nor a vegan, but I totally get what you mean about condiments. My fridge is FULL of them too! I especially love Dijon mustard and BBQ sauce. I’ll put bbq sauce on anything if given half a chance, but I try to save it just for veggie burgers. Haha…

  3. Um, I love you. Best Vegan MoFo recipe of the day!

  4. I love hot dog salads, have been eating them for years! Except I top mine with Goddess dressing rather than condiments. Evidence: http://veganhomemade.wordpress.com/2008/04/16/hot-dog-salad/

    Great minds think alike.

  5. Dang I never would have tried that! Do you have a favorite hot dog brand?

    As a side note…we were frustrated we couldn’t fit our leftovers in the fridge. It’s because the whole fridge is full of miscellaneous condiments!

    • Carrie says:

      This was using Smart Dogs. I found them on sale awhile back but I didn’t really like them. Back in Canada I used to buy Yves all of the time and I liked those, but I haven’t seen them around here.

  6. Laura says:

    So going to try this…sounds like a good idea!

  7. […] a mistake (not because I’m down on Dez at all, but because my RB situation looks worse than hot dog salad). I see only two possible outcomes for Bryant this year, and they’re both quite good. At […]

  8. Shannon says:

    Oh. My. God! I couldn’t have said it better myself!! I am a total #condimentwhore aka #saucequeen!!! Finally a blog post that doesn’t want to make me hurl!! You rock!!

  9. Shannon says:

    Oh. My. God! I couldn’t have said it better myself!! I am a total #condimentwhore aka #saucequeen!!! Finally a blog post that doesn’t want to make me hurl!! You rock!! I literally just fried up some potatoes because I wanted ketchup and mustard!!! 😂😂

Leave a Reply

