MoFo #10: Chili and cornbread

As my foot is healing more and more we are slowly trying to get the apartment looking civilized again. I hate housecleaning when I’m fully mobile…so my distaste for it has grown tenfold since being on crutches. I’m up to 50% weight baring on my foot (meaning I can walk around without crutches 50% of the time) and that makes me quite happy. However, for the past two months we’ve been living in a state of disarray. Things needed to be out where I could access them easily. I was bed ridden for a week right after surgery, so there were piles of books and papers everywhere in the bedroom. I could go on and on, but let’s just leave it at ‘my apartment is a mess.’

Sunday afternoon we dedicated to getting some semblance of order back in our home and making it look somewhat presentable. I had to take a few breaks, but we managed to get a decent start and it no longer looks like a home from an episode of ‘Hoarders.’ I knew I probably wouldn’t have energy to make dinner after spending the day cleaning, so I threw some chili in the slow cooker (and made some cornbread to go with it).

If I do say so myself,  I used to make some pretty kick ass chili. But lately my results have been not so good. I’ve lost my chili mojo. Part of this is that I never make chili the same way twice – I usually just throw in random ingredients from my freezer and pantry. This version was okay, but it certainly wasn’t the best I’ve made and it isn’t worth posting the recipe. In case you are curious, it had chickpeas, pinto beans, black beans, tomato paste, dried chipotles, roasted poblanos, onion, chili powder, a bit of habanero sauce, a wee bit of cocoa, and a tiny bit of agave. For cornbread, I always use this recipe from VegWeb. I like it because it isn’t very sweet, I’m not a fan of super sugary cornbread.

I went to change my camera lens and look who was trying to get a nibble of the cornbread!

But how can you stay mad at a face like this?

I can haz cornbread?

Tagged , , , ,

8 thoughts on “MoFo #10: Chili and cornbread

  1. I am so in the mood for chili now. And how CAN you stay mad at a face like that? Can he haz cornbread?

  2. I can haz moar cat pics?

  3. Micah Ludeke says:

    Oh man, that cornbread looks so fluffy and rich! The chili looks gorgeous, at least!

  4. Alicia says:

    I could go for some chili and cornbread right now. Looks delicious! I’ll have to bookmark that cornbread recipe for later. My cat always tries to get in a nibble or two when I have food out, too! Sneaky creatures, they are.

  5. Jojo says:

    That looks delicious & I love the picture of your kitty trying to pinch some of your food!

  6. Niru says:

    The cornbread looks delicious. I’ve never made it before and should try! I am glad to know that your foot is getting better. And the picture of your cat is beautiful!!

  7. Mandee says:

    Not being mobile would suck, I hope you continue to get better 🙂

    And thanks for the link to the corn bread, I don’t like it sweet either, ick.

    You cat is gorgeous!

  8. Looks like a perfect fall meal, even if it’s not quite chilly around here yet.

Leave a Reply

