MoFo #11: Overnight Oats in a Jar

I realize I’m about 2 years behind the times here…overnight oats was an internet sensation quite awhile ago. I’m not sure why it took me so long to try them, but I’m definitely a fan!

One thing that intrigued me was making overnight oats in a leftover peanut butter jar. I don’t often keep peanut butter in the house – my husband is allergic (not deathly so, but he can’t eat it) and I can’t be trusted around the stuff…it somehow ends up on a spoon inside my mouth. However, I had a bit leftover from making peanut butter rice crispy squares for the bakesale last weekend.

Don’t you just hate when you have a couple of spoonfuls of nut butter left in the jar, but it’s so difficult to scrape clean?

Overnight oats is the answer! Put some oats in the jar along with some non-dairy milk or water (I used water because I was out of non-dairy milk). I also added agave and cinnamon to mine, but be creative and use whatever you like (I think canned pumpkin would be great)! Stir it up. Here is what mine looked like after stirring:

Cover with the jar lid and leave in the fridge overnight. The next day I added a chopped banana and ate mine for breakfast. The coldness threw me for a loop (I’m used to warm oatmeal), but I couldn’t believe how creamy the oats were! I think this is something that would really well for summer heat waves when I want a substantial breakfast before a run. Here is what mine looked like this morning:

And how awesome is it to be able to eat out of a jar with a spoon?!

Tagged ,

8 thoughts on “MoFo #11: Overnight Oats in a Jar

  1. I guess I’m behind the times as well! I have never heard of overnight oats. That’s a great idea for leftover peanut butter. I usually end up spending 20 min reaching my finger down into the farthest corners of the jar to scrape up the last bits.

  2. thevegandivision says:

    What a great breakfast! I can’t wait to try this. I love eating directly from the jar too xD

  3. I always cook my oats in the nut butter jar when there’s only a little bit left. My husband thinks I’m weird but he doesn’t appreciate nut butter like I do.

  4. Art Min says:

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  5. Kristen says:

    Good idea! I’m bummed, because I just washed out several jars for recycling. I usually save them for the dogs to lick the bejeebus out of, but it seems they’ve grown out of that stage. Too much work for the old fogies. 😉 We go through it pretty fast, so I could do this often!

  6. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.

  7. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and
    checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

