MoFo #15: DIY Almond Milk and Almond Meal…and an award!

I finally made my own almond milk! I feel like this qualifies me for super special level 5 vegan status or something. Or maybe just weird hippie status. Anyhoo, start off by soaking 1 cup of raw, unroasted, unsalted almonds in 4 cups of water overnight.

The next day it will look gross and nasty, like so:

Dump everything in your blender and blend it up. If you are going to be using the almond milk for drinking plain, you may want to add some vanilla and a few medjool dates for sweetness. I kept mine plain because I wasn’t sure what I was going to use it for.

Now you need to strain your almond milk, as there will be a ton of pulp in it. Use TWO layers of cheesecloth (if you make nut milk a lot, you can get a special nut milk bag for this purpose). Pour the unstrained milk through the two layers of cheesecloth into a wide-mouthed jar or whatever you are using. Gently squeeze the almond pulp to get out all of the milk.

Now what are you going to do with all of that almond pulp? Don’t throw it away! A quick Google search turns up loads of recipes, including breads, muffins, cookies, and even raw crackers if you are so inclined. I didn’t feel like baking, so I wanted to turn my wet, mushy pulp into almond meal I could freeze for later use. I don’t have a dehydrator, so I spread the pulp out onto a cookie sheet and stuck it in the oven for a few hours on the lowest possible temperature (which happens to be 170 F in my oven). I used a spatula to stir it around every hour or so. When it was nice and dry I took it out.

Before the oven:

After the oven:

I then stuck this almond meal in the freezer where it will stay until I have a need for it. If you need almond flour instead of almond meal, just take it for a whirl in your food processor (but watch your feet! Food processor blades are sharp!)

I bought these almonds in bulk at Rainbow Grocery in San Francisco. I wanted to do a price comparison to see how much cheaper it is to make your own almond milk, but my kitchen scale seems to be broken (not surprising, it’s pretty old). Anyway, this was a lot of work, and I don’t often use non-dairy milk so I’m not sure I would go through all of this on a regular basis. If I drank a LOT of almond milk it would probably be worth it, but truth be told I hardly ever buy it since my husband is allergic. However, I am looking forward to a super awesome cup of coffee with homemade almond milk tomorrow morning!

What sort of non-dairy milk do you use the most often?

—-

In other news, the awesome Maggie Muggins (aka the Vegan Cookbook Aficionado) nominated me for a Liebster (German for ‘favorite,’ ‘beloved,’ or ‘dearest) Award! How great is that?!

The idea of the award is to bring attention to blogs with less than 200 followers. Here’s how it works:

1.       Show your thanks to those who gave you the award by linking back to them.
2.       Link to 5 of your top picks and let them know they’ve been nominated by leaving a comment on their blog.
3.       Post the award on your blog.
4.       Enjoy the love and support of some wonderful people on the interweb!
I have no idea how to check how many followers a blog has, but here are the blogs I’ve been checking out a lot this MoFo:
1. Hot Vegan Chick…Peas! (not only is her blog awesome, but she’s been super helpful while I was on crutches!)
Tagged

7 thoughts on “MoFo #15: DIY Almond Milk and Almond Meal…and an award!

  1. I just recently made the same thing and loved it! I gave up on drying the almond meal after awhile because even at 170 it was developing a cooked smell. How long did it take in total to dry them out?

  2. Mandee says:

    I’ve made almond milk once or twice and I really like it but I just can’t seem to motivate myself to make it again but you’ve inspired me plus it’s way cheaper that store bought.

    Thanks for the award, Carrie! I am loving your blog too 😀

  3. Kimberly says:

    Wow! Thanks for the award, Carrie! I’m so thrilled to have received it — it totally made my day.

    And now I’m seriously contemplating making my own almond milk…

  4. Drying the pulp to freeze is such a smart idea! I’m a devotee to Almond Breeze plain unsweetened. I know it’s probably cheaper to make my own but convenience rules in this case, and I like that it’s fortified with calcium and whatnot.

  5. Janet says:

    Just a quick note: Soak the almonds in bottled water anything but tap water! Also rinse the nuts or strain them, then add to your high speed blender. Do not use the water you soaked them in. There are enzymes on the nut to protect the nut, those enzymes prevent us from absorbing the almond nutrients. Just something I learned becoming a certified raw food chef! Thx for sharing your info!

  6. STRIXO says:

    So I broke down how much it costs to make my own almond milk with 5 lbs of store bought bulk Raw Organic Whole Shelled Almond (ROWSA) and here’s what I got:

    – 1 lbs = 3 cups. (That’s a conservative figure); 5 lbs = 15 cups
    – I make batch with 1 cup of ROWSA at the time and get 6 cups of almond milk using this recipe:

    1 cup almonds, soaked and rinsed (Overnight in Fridge – Follow Janet’s advice)
    2.5 Tsp Maple syrup
    6 cups water
    Pinch sea salt
    1 tbs vanilla extract (optional)

    Blend almond with only 2 cups of water to produce fine almond meal. Then filter with Cheesecloth or create your own filter bag made of fine fabric.

    – This makes 90 cups of almond milk;
    – There’s 45 pints in 90 cups;
    – Each store bought almond milk cartons is 2 pints; 45 pints/2 = 22.5 cartons
    – So you’ll need to buy 22.5 cartons at $3.00 (Also a conservative figure) to get the same quantity of homemade almond milk; 22.5 cartons @ $3.00 = $67.50
    – The cost of 5 lbs of ROWSA is $37.50 (I get mine online at Azurestandard.com)
    – Even at $10.00/lbs ($50) it’s still a clean good deal!

    HERE’S ONE DELICIOUS WAY TO USE YOUR ALMOND MEAL (I dry mine in a toaster oven @ 175 F for 25 minutes moving the meal around every 10 min.):

    DRY INGREDIENTS:

    -3 cups (450g) of almond meal
    -2 tsps baking soda
    -1/2 tsp salt

    WET INGREDIENTS:

    -1/4 cup (60ml) coconut oil melted
    -4 large eggs

    -2 very ripe bananas, mashed
    -3 tsps vanilla
    -3 tsps cinnamon
    -1/2 cup (50g) of walnut, chopped
    -1/2 cup of carob chips (optional)

    1. Preheat oven to 350C(175F)
    2. Combine DRY INGREDIENTS in a small bowl
    3. In separate bowl mix together coconut oil and eggs
    4. Mix the flour combination into oil and eggs, stir until well blended.
    5. Add mashed bananas, vanilla and cinnamon. Fold in walnuts and carob chips.
    6. Pour batter into a greased loaf pan. Bake for 25-30 min. or until a toothpick comes out clean.

    Enjoy!

  7. Holly says:

    I am wondering how long does the milk last after making it?

Leave a Reply

