MoFo #17: Desperate times call for desperate measures: Vegan delivery from Pizza Hut

Even though I am on the mend from my accident, I still can’t get to the grocery store. Previously I did 90% of the shopping, since my husband often works late. He’s been a good sport about trying to get to the store once a week, but it sometimes doesn’t happen. Thank goodness we had a well-stocked pantry beforehand. But my supply of lentils and beans is slowly dwindling.

On Sunday afternoon we were watching the Raiders play the Browns on tv (does anyone else follow the Raiders? What a game!). We were getting hungry, but our fridge was pretty bare except for condiments and a Brita water filter and some Red Stripe beer. We didn’t want to spend too much money, and Reggie Smith had been advertising $10 pizzas from Pizza Hut every commercial break during the game so we figured what the heck.

I knew the thin and crispy crust from Pizza Hut was vegan, but I wasn’t sure what to expect. We ordered online and I specified that I wanted all of the veggies. There was even a checkbox for no cheese, which surprised me. When it arrived I expected a few sparse vegetables scattered around but it actually had a pretty decent amount of veggies. The crust was no heck (it kind of tasted like soup crackers…), but for $10 for a large pizza it wasn’t half bad. I washed it down with a beer or two and finished watching the game.

The next day I had leftovers and I decided to melt some Daiya on the slices under broiler. I also had some leftover sprouts on the side:

Verdict: while there is definitely better delivery pizza options available and Pizza Hut would never be my first choice, this was cheap and perfectly edible and did fine in a pinch.

Tagged ,

7 thoughts on “MoFo #17: Desperate times call for desperate measures: Vegan delivery from Pizza Hut

  1. That’s good to know about the crust. Back in college Domino’s had a $5 pizza deal that was pretty good and they were really generous with the veggies.

  2. Aimee says:

    Have you ever gotten Papa Johns? That’s what me and my boyfriend get when we order pizza. They have good veggie options and that garlic “butter” sauce is accidentally vegan!! And delicious and incredibly unhealthy, lol.

    • Carrie says:

      We do! We actually live pretty close to a Papa John’s and we do get carryout on occasion. They have good veggie options and I like their crust better than the one from Pizza Hut. We were lazy though and wanted delivery, and the Papa John’s here charges quite a hefty delivery charge.

  3. Kimberly says:

    I’ve done a lightly-baked, easy-on-the-sauce, heavy-on-the-veggies, nix-the-cheese pizza from Pizza Pizza and it was surprisingly tasty. Wouldn’t be my first choice for dinner but it hit the spot when other people were ordering pizza.

  4. Jojo says:

    Ha, I kept seeing those ad’s whist we were watching the niners game! If I hadn’t just cooked a football food feast I’m sure I’d have needed to order pizza too!

  5. I didn’t know that Pizza Hut’s thin crust was vegan! Thanks for the info, might come in handy some day in a pinch.

  6. […] MoFo #17: Desperate times call for desperate measures: Vegan delivery from Pizza Hut Author: admin Time: Friday, October 28th, 2011 at 4:55 pm Category: Uncategorized Comments: You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. RSS: You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Navigation: « Exactly what are usually the actual rewards regarding Pizza Shelter coupons? « shoppingbloomfield.com google_color_border = "f6f4dc"; google_color_bg = "f6f4dc"; google_color_link = "802100"; google_color_text = "333333"; google_color_url = "802100"; //–> […]

Leave a Reply

