MoFo #20: A few healthy snack ideas

I am always on the lookout for great, healthy snacks to add to my repertoire. I have a pretty big sweet tooth, so when banana soft serve “ice cream” became all the rage on the internet I was quite a happy camper. In case you have been living under some sort of internet rock, to make banana soft serve you freeze bananas (I chop up overly ripe bananas and keep them in a baggie in my freezer), then whir them in the food processor. That’s it.

One thing I love about this is that you can add all sorts of goodies to switch up the flavour. I’ve used peanut butter, different flavours of protein powder, and of course, cocoa! This batch had cocoa and is sprinkled with date sugar and slivered almonds:

Doesn’t it look like ‘real’ ice cream? I posted this picture on Facebook and I had someone accuse me of lying about it just being frozen bananas!

Sometimes I crave salty snacks, such as popcorn or potato chips. I like to keep a big  bag of edamame in my freezer for this occasion. Not only are edamame great on salads, but they make a delicious snack. Usually I snack on edamame still in the shells, but this particular bowlful is pre-shelled as I had bought the bag with salads in mind:

What are your favourite healthy-ish snacks?

Tagged ,

7 thoughts on “MoFo #20: A few healthy snack ideas

  1. I’m a sucker for hummus and carrot sticks.

    I never caught on to the banana ice cream wave. I’ll have to try it! Where did you find date sugar?

  2. Mandee says:

    That ice cream really does look like regular ice cream and I agree, banana ice cream is the best and so easy and much healthier!

    I like the usuals: bananas, grapes, hummus with carrot sticks/rice crackers and fruit & nut bars

  3. Yum. I still haven’t tried banana soft serve somehow… but maybe soon. Yours looks great!

    I am lazy, so I am all about fruit, especially fruit that doesn’t need to be prepped. Today I have the following for snack at work: an asian pear, a large plum, an apple, and two tiny oranges.

  4. choirqueer says:

    Kale chips! I also like popcorn, nuts, raw veggies – especially green beans, and pita chips.

  5. Your banana ice cream looks way more thick than mine ever does! I love the date sugar sprinkled on top.

  6. Micah Ludeke says:

    The frozen banana trick is brilliant! I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

