MoFo #27: Cheater Chole

I recently posted about my latest used bookstore cookbook find – Lord Krishna’s Cuisine: The Art of Indian Vegetarian Cooking. A lot of the recipes in this book are pretty time-consuming and call for grinding your own spices and what-not. While this is great on a Sunday afternoon when you have the time, it doesn’t always work out in real life.

Recently on a weeknight I found myself wondering what the heck I was going to make for dinner. The pantry was pretty bare, but I did have some chickpeas and some other miscellaneous things. Of course I immediately thought of chole (or channa masala, or curried chickpeas, or whatever else you want to call it).

I flipped to this recipe in the cookbook, but I knew I didn’t have time to follow all of the steps. So here is my ‘cheater’ version of Yamuna Devi’s chole.

Cheater Chole (based on recipe from Lord Krishna’s Cuisine: The Art of Indian Vegetarian Cooking)

-1 can chickpeas (or around 2 c. cooked)
-1 tbsp. shredded ginger root
-1 tsp. dried chiles (use more/less depending on desired level of spiciness)
-1 tsp turmeric
-1.5 tsp. paprika
-1 tbsp. ground coriander
-1/2 tsp. cayenne (again, adjust for desired level of spiciness)
-1/2 tsp. asafetida (or hing)
-1 can diced tomatoes
-1/2 c. water
-juice from 1/2 lemon (or use amchoor powder if you have it, I did not)
-2 tsp. garam masala

1. Take aside about 1/4-1/2 c. of chickpeas and mash them into a coarse paste. Set aside.

2. In a saucepan, add a splash of water and put over med. heat. Saute the ginger and chiles for a couple of minutes. Add in turmeric, paprika, coriander, cayenne, and asafetida. Add can of tomatoes. Stir around until the spices and the juice from the can of tomatoes forms a nice paste.

3. Stir in whole chickpeas, mashed chickpeas, 1/2 cup of water, and the amchoor (or lemon/lime). Turn heat over low and simmer until the liquid reduces into a nice thick sauce. The longer you let this simmer the more the flavour will develop, but I think I left mine for about 20 min. or so since we were in a hurry to eat. When the chole is done cooking, sprinkle with the garam masala.

Was this as good as the full recipe? No where near. But it was still quite tasty and it came together pretty quickly, and that was exactly what I was after!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

