Sometimes life happens…and a belated Walk for Farm Animals recap

Whoa, where the heck have I been?

Life threw a curve ball a couple of weeks ago. The company I worked for had massive lay offs that nobody saw coming (well I guess somebody saw it coming, but for the most part they were a surprise). Basically over 750 people showed up to work one day and were told “go home now.” Unfortunately I was one of the people that were no longer needed. It was quite a shock.

Anyway, to make a long story short, I think in the long run it is for the best. I was getting quite frustrated with some aspects of my job, and I already have 3 interviews lined up for next week so I know I’ll be okay. There are some big decisions to be made in the near future, but basically I am doing all I can do and then wait and see where the chips fall. In the meantime I am getting caught up on the gazillion errands that fall by the wayside when you are working full-time and taking advantage of my extra time for working out and getting back in shape now that I have been cleared for cardio post-surgery (still no running until early Feb though…boo). I’m feeling like I’m in a good place. It’s kind of a scary place as I’m someone who likes to be in control, but I know I’ll land on my feet (or foot…).

Anyway, this post isn’t all doom and gloom. A couple of weeks ago I participated in Farm Sanctuary’s Walk for Farm Animals in San Francisco. I was still in my air cast/walking boot, so I didn’t think I’d be able to do the walk, but actually Kathy, Autumn, and I did  a shorter version of the walk and it felt pretty good to be out and about, especially given that the walk was in Golden Gate Park which is stunning.

Here we are afterward with a friendly pig:

Photobucket

We wanted to grab some lunch after the walk, so we headed to Berkeley to check out Cha-Ya, an all vegan Japanese restaurant. It took me soooooo long to figure out what I wanted! They have a very large menu and everything sounds scrumptious. The big toss up was between sushi or noodles….noodles won out. I ordered a vegetable curry dish with soba noodles.

Photobucket

Autumn ordered a delicious plate of vegan sushi:

Photobucket

And Kathy ordered the vegetable sukiyaki:

Photobucket

I definitely need to get back to Cha-Ya to sample more of their dishes. Next time I’m for sure getting the sushi.

After lunch we headed to Berkeley Bowl, a local independent grocery store. Their produce section is INSANE. Look how big it is!

Photobucket

And they have such neat things! Like giant squash:

Photobucket

It was a super fun day. I always love exploring the Bay with my veg buddies.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes life happens…and a belated Walk for Farm Animals recap

  1. So sorry to hear about your job! It sucks for sure, but hopefully good will come out of it with whatever you choose to move on to. Great pictures of Cha Ya. I’ve only been there once and I don’t know why, it’s so good.

  2. Woah, that’s a super sucky surprise to walk into, no heads up or anything? Hope you kicked ass at your job interviews and everything works out for the best.
    I’m pretty sure I could live in that grocery store, and by the looks of it no one would probable ever find me.

  3. […] deadly silent for an embarrassing length of time. Life got turned upside down when I found out some bad news in November. Life has been pretty topsy turvy since then and there are some big decisions to be […]

  4. Mo says:

    Really sorry to hear about your job.

Leave a Reply

