PPK Picnic!

After living in the Great White North for 26 years, I am very appreciative that I now live somewhere where one can picnic in February.

My PPK buddies and I met up for an awesome picnic this weekend. It was pretty spectacular. Behold:

The edamame corn salad from Veganomicon made by Kathy and Omer:

Peanut stew from Viva Vegan made by Autumn:

I made empanadas (dough from Viva Vegan) filled with Trader Joe’s soy chorizo and a can of their Cuban black beans. That soy chorizo is like crack to me, I can’t get enough of it. I normally don’t buy it as it isn’t the healthiest thing in the world, but it’s perfect for occasions such as this.

Kathy and Omer also brought cookies! Chewy-chocolate raspberry cookies from Veganomicon to be exact:

And last but certainly not least, Autumn brought key lime pie from Vegan Pie in the Sky! This is actually key limon pie. I had never heard of a limon before. Apparently it’s a combination of a lime and a lemon. Either way, the pie was crazy good.

Topped with Soyatoo:

Not to toot our own horns, but I love when I get together with my PPK buddies for potlucks…the food is just so darn good. By the end I had a very full, and a very happy, belly:

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “PPK Picnic!

  1. A picnic in February? That’s crazy talk! Everything looks so good, I agree about the PPK meet-ups, everything always tastes awesome. PPKers know their shit.

  2. Sounds like a good time! Everything looks absolutely delicious, especially your empanadas. I love TJ’s soyrizo too, and also save it for special occasions.

  3. Autumn says:

    I don’t know what I love more, our picnics or our restaurant outings. PPK meetups are the best!

  4. malindagrace says:

    Trader Joe’s soy chorizo is awesome!! I use it in Veganomicon’s jambalaya instead of seitan. It completely screws up the taste it’s supposed to have but OMG is it amazing. It’s my omni boyfriend’s favorite food. Ever.

Leave a Reply

