Tofu Cookery: Falafel

One of the things that impresses me the most about Tofu Cookery is how Louise Hagler manages to put tofu into everything. Even things that are vegan without tofu. Like falafel.

I was intrigued by her tofu falafel recipe and had to give it a try. It’s a pretty typical falafel recipe, with the exception that all of the ingredients are whirred up with some tofu in the food processor.

 

Although I love me some deep-fried falafel when I go out to falafel restaurants, when I make it at home I tend to bake my falafel. These were great and stayed together during baking, which can sometimes be tricky. Another issue with baked falafel is that it can be dry. With the addition of tofu these were actually really moist.

All in all I was pleasantly surprised…tofu falafel is actually pretty tasty! It didn’t taste exactly like falafel, but it was pretty darn close and I would definitely make this again.

I served the falafel on a pita with some veggies and sriracha. Nom.

Tagged ,

7 thoughts on “Tofu Cookery: Falafel

  1. Mandee says:

    Mmm, falafel! That’s something I need to make more often and I prefer to bake ’em as well. Also, I tried sriracha for the first time recently – I like!

  2. Leslie Reese says:

    Um, yeah…that looks absolutely delicious!

  3. Caitlin says:

    interesting! i never heard of tofu falafel. i’m glad you liked it! it looks so crispy and delicious!

  4. Weird, I would never have thought to add tofu to falafel either. They look super good!

  5. Autumn says:

    Looks good! I haven’t liked any of the baked falafel I’ve tried so maybe I’ll give this one a go!

  6. I deep fried these falafels in coconut oil and was absolutely floored by the taste! SO GOOD!

Leave a Reply

