Tofu Cookery: Tofu Spaghetti Balls

One of the Tofu Cookery recipes I hear mentioned a lot is the tofu spaghetti balls. I figured that was a good place to start my MoFo journey. These are basically balls with mashed up tofu, peanut butter, wheat germ, soy sauce, and a few herbs and spices.

Try as I might, I couldn’t find wheat germ anywhere. I went to THREE different bulk food stores, and they all looked at me as if I had two heads. I guess nobody eats wheat germ anymore. I finally gave up and just used breadcrumbs instead.

These are baked in the oven for about 30 minutes. Mine fell apart quite badly. I mushed them back together for the above photo, but they weren’t very firm at all. But despite their crumbly-ness, they were pretty darn tasty and I can see making them again. The peanut butter was something I would never thing to add but it made them really yummy.

Isa posted her version of the recipe on the PPK blog a few years ago (she uses breadcrumbs instead of wheat germ as well, so maybe it’s not just me that has issues sourcing wheat germ). Her recipe is pan-fried instead of baked, but you could always try baking the balls instead if you were so inclined.

12 thoughts on “Tofu Cookery: Tofu Spaghetti Balls

  1. NIce! My home made vegan meatballs usually fall apart too. I am still looking for the secret to that NOT happening, even when I bake them

  2. kittee says:

    I know these balls inside and out. I really do.
    If you’re looking for suggestions, make the carrot cake and add candied ginger!

    xo
    kittee

  3. Mary Stabinsky says:

    hhmmm i have no problem finding wheat germ. when i saw PB listed I was like REALLY??? Thanks for much for taking the challenge and posting for a month I really look forward to reading all about your adventures in the kitchen. Your inspiring to start posting on my blog again!

  4. Fanny says:

    I use wheat germ! It’s easy to find here (Sweden).

  5. Autumn says:

    I can never find wheat germ either, only wheat bran! Maybe we are looking in the wrong places? Did you use the meat balls in spaghetti? I’ve been wanting to make some, too. Maybe you could add a little VWG to get them to hold up better next time but from here they look really great!

  6. I used to find wheat germ at Safeway, although I probably haven’t bought any in years, so who knows anymore. Even though they’re mashed back together, they still look pretty good! I’ve made the PPK version, I also thought the PB in them was weird and yet strangely good.

  7. Laura says:

    From the beautiful photo, I’d never know you had problems with them falling apart.

  8. Mandee says:

    As soon as I saw peanut butter I was intrigued, what an odd but delicious ingredient! And you think wheat germ would be everywhere!

  9. Vegan Joe says:

    I wonder what the addition of ground flax would do for firmness and or taste?

  10. Vegan Joe says:

    PS what about the use of oatmeal instead of wheat? Been doing the gluten free thing myself lately.

  11. […] recipe is fairly similar to the tofu spaghetti balls. Tofu, wheat germ (I used bread crumbs as I can’t find wheat germ here), a tiny bit of flour, […]

Leave a comment